Uncategorized

My Favorite Sauti Sol Songs

IMG_20190206_091902Sauti Sol are Kenyan musical giants. They have revolutionized Kenyan Music. Their music has been amazing from the word go. Sauti Sol have made hits after hits after hits. They are among the biggest African musicians and have been in the game for more than 10 years.Like almost everyone else I was introduced to Sauti Sol through Patricia Kihoro when she covered their song ‘Lazizi’ . I immediately fell in love with them. They have also made the genre of ‘Afro Pop’ more mainstream.

IMG_20190206_091929Sauti Sol saved my 2017. I was sad and depressed after being suspended from University when my best friend invited me to their concert. That was one of the best decisions of my life. I fought my way to the front row , sang along to all their songs , tears of joy were flowing freely and when Bien Barasa removed his shirt I legit lost my mind. So basically Bien saved my 2017. LOL Still one of the best experiences of my life.

Anyway they just released their 4th studio album titled ‘Afrikan Sauce’ and it comprises of their recent hit songs.IMG_20190206_091834The album is amazing. I love the direction their musical career is heading. So in the spirit of enjoying their magical talent I decided to compile a list of my favorite Sauti Sol songs.

1. Afrikan Star featuring Burna Boy:

IMG_20190206_092052I love Sauti Sol so much for how they praise and show love to the African Woman in their songs. They take their powerful vocals, amazing collaborations, striking lyrics and give us pure magic. The song glorifies the African woman for their rawness and beauty even their natural hair. As an African woman myself this song gives me so much joy and love. Burna Boy also did an amazing job on this song. I absolutely love it.

2. Sura yako:

IMG_20190206_092110This is officially the Ruracio anthem in Kenya. This song does not age at all, it sounds fresher every time you hear it. If you attend a Ruracio and this song is not played, the event is incomplete. The song pays homage to the African culture by highlighting our marriage traditions. It is also very hype and danceable . I love it. A huge bonus is Chimano’s baritone, honestly his voice is a rare gift. This song is a timeless piece. It will forever make my favorites list.

3. Melanin featuring Patoranking:

IMG_20190206_091948This is yet another song that praises and shows love to the African woman. This song has a really positive message and was the best song of 2017. Considering the constant pressure on African women to bleach their skin this song goes ahead to dispute that and praise the dark melanin rich skin. The song highlights the melanin of the African woman as a gift to be treasured. The message is very positive and uplifting . We are melanin queens and this song adds emphasis to that. Thanks to Sauti Sol and Patoranking for showing love to all the melanin queens , the raw and beautiful African women.

4. Tujiangalie featuring Nyashinski:

IMG_20190206_092013Another hit from Sauti Sol with a powerful message . The song highlights the political and social issues facing Kenya as a country. It is a thought provoking song that is deep. I love how Sauti Sol use their talent and platform to encourage change in the society. Of late, the high rates of corruption cases and social political injustices is at a high in the country and this song encourages conversations about these issues. I am a fan of Nyashinski , his clever lyrics push the message of the song. The song addresses issues that we Kenyans face and would like to see change . It is an amazing piece , I honestly love it so much. The catchy lyrics got me singing along all the time.

5. Nishike:

IMG_20190206_092217Everytime I see Bien’s body roll at minute 0:48 in the music video it legit  makes my heart skip a beat.

IMG_20190206_165020This song is so groovy with the appropriate sexual hints. Our very own Kenyan baby-making song. LOL. I love the tempo of this song, it is slow and perfectly sultry. The video was also a win for me , we are so used to the sexualization of women in music videos but in this video we women get to ogle. On another note, I was shocked and impressed to learn that Kagwe Mungai  produced the song. Mad talent. The vocals here do not disappoint. It was a sexy and sultry side of Sauti Sol we needed to see.

6. Kuliko Jana featuring Redfourth Chorus:

IMG_20190206_092032This is another song with a strong message. The song is spiritual and Sauti Sol do justice to it. I for one love the blend of Redfourth Chorus with Sauti Sol. The song puts you in a worship mood . It speaks of God’s love and grace which is sufficient, His love is renewed each day. Though they faced a bit of backlash for singing gospel music as secular artists. I honestly think they did an amazing job, they used their musical talent to praise and glorify the Lord. This song is beyong amazing.

Sauti Sol have made a huge unforgettable impact on the music industry. They are musical giants and I really look forward to see more hits from them. Making this list was actually really hard, I love all their songs. Sauti Sol is an amazing group , they have achieved so much and they still keep growing. I am a huge fan.

IMG_20190206_174634I hope you enjoyed my list of favorite songs from Sauti Sol. Support Kenyan artists , play some Sauti Sol.

Cheers.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment