Uncategorized

My Current Skin Care Routine

IMG_20190204_165537.jpgGrowing up, I have always had problematic skin. I had rashes , eczema , some whiteheads and my skin was always oily. It was really frustrating to me and I tried everything to fix my skin. After years of trying and failing I finally found a solution. I quit dairy and got a skin care routine that worked for me. Those two changes worked amazingly for my skin. I have oily skin and now I can comfortably say that my skin is doing just fine.

So today I would like to share with you my skin care routine. I took time to learn my skin type and also what my skin likes and does not like. I then built and rebuilt my skin care routine until it became a constant skin care routine that worked perfectly for me.

Morning Routine:

When I wake up I take my lemon water before eating anything else . Lemon water is a really good detoxifying agent and cleanser. It works wonders for the skin. As I take my shower, I wash my face with raw black African soap.

IMG_20190204_165857I get my raw black African soap from Halisi naturals for only 4ooksh. Black African soap is a really good organic cleanser . It works very well for sensitive skin like mine and reduces oily skin. I love how raw and natural it is, as it doesn’t contain any harsh chemicals. After that , I like to air dry my face. After my face is dry, I like to spray Rose water on my face as a toner.

IMG_20190204_170045Rose Water helps in cleaning pores and controls excess oil. Rose water has really helped my skin , I do not think I can do without it. I let my face air dry again and then I moisturize my face with Arimis.

IMG_20190204_165652Arimis is a holy grail. It is an underdog that has really helped many. I do not think there is a Kenyan household that doesn’t have Arimis. It is initially supposed to be used during milking of cows but we discovered how amazing it is for skin. It does not contain harsh chemicals and that is what makes it a favorite for most of us. It is also very affordable and also lasts very long. It really keeps my face moisturized and doesn’t make my skin super oily. After that I go ahead and do my makeup routine. Since I have oily skin I always make sure most of my makeup products have SPF 15 and above.

Night Routine :

My skin care routine at night majorly focuses on removal of makeup. I first apply Arimis petroleum jelly to break down the makeup as most of it is matte. I then go in with a wet wipe to remove the makeup.

IMG_20190204_170133The wet wipes are gentle on the skin and also moisturize the skin in the process. I love how fast makeup wipes remove the makeup and they always leave my skin feeling fresh.

I then go in with my raw black African soap to really remove any remaining makeup on my skin. After that I go in with my Garnier even and matte cleanser  using my spin brush to remove any makeup that might still be on.IMG_20190204_165956IMG_20190204_165803The spin brush also massages your skin as it removes dead skin cells  to improve your skin tone. The Garnier cleanser also works magic . It is thorough while still being gentle. I really value this step in my skin care routine. After that I tone using Rose Water and moisturize using Arimis . That’s it.

IMG_20190204_175241The skin is the largest organ in the body. It really reacts to every way we treat our body and system. My it be diet, hygiene , exercise, lots of things may affect your skin. I love to treat my skin well, so as to feel great. It is part of my skin care routine that is dear and important to me.

There are a couple of things you can change to help your skin be healthier. Reduce dairy intake , regularly cleaning your pillowcase, drinking lots of water, avoid sugar and fatty meals, just to name a few. I really hope this helps you build a skin care routine that works well for you.

Self care is self love.

Cheers.

 

2 thoughts on “My Current Skin Care Routine”

Leave a comment